APWA Wisconsin Announces 2016 Scholarship Re ....

Pictured, L to R: Brian Usher, APWA National Past President; Amber Wycklendt, Kyle Williams,
Travis Sigg, Jacob Scholbe, Joshua Marineau, Holly Powell, Education Committee Chair,
Ryan Amtmann, WI Chapter President.

The APWA Wisconsin Chapter Scholarship Program was created as a method to promote the public works profession to undergraduate students throughout the state. Since 2006, our chapter has awarded 54 scholarships to undergraduate students. This year, these five outstanding students received a $1,000 scholarship along with a one year membership to APWA:

  • Joshua Marineau is from DeForest, WI and is a junior Civil Engineering major at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He would like to focus on structural, geotechnical or water resources engineering. Josh worked at Vierbicher Associates performing construction inspection, surveying, CAD and stormwater modeling. He is sponsored by Gary Blazek, Department Manager for Vierbicher Associates. 
  • Jacob Scholbe is from Muskego, WI and is a junior Civil Engineering major at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville. He is working towards a dual emphasis in municipal and transportation engineering. Jake works for R.A. Smith National in the Municipal Services division as a second term Co-op student. He performs flow monitoring, road construction inspection, illicit discharge inspections, GIS and CAD duties. He is sponsored by Jeff Mazanec, Senior Consultant for R.A. Smith National. 
  • Travis Sigg is from Dodgeville, WI and is a junior Civil and Environmental Engineering major with a Construction Engineering and Management option at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. This past summer, Travis worked as an Environmental Engineering Intern for the City of Fitchburg Public Works department assisting with construction inspection, surveys, grants and administration. Travis is sponsored by Rick Eilertson, Environmental Project Engineer with the City of Fitchburg-Public Works. 
  • Kyle Williams is from Monroe, WI and is a fifth year senior Civil Engineering major with a focus on transportation at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is currently working for the City of Fitchburg-Public Works as a Transportation Engineering intern on plat development and transportation projects. Kyle hopes to have a career focused on transportation. He is sponsored by Gus VanderWegen, Project Engineer with the City of Fitchburg-Public Works.
  • Amber Wycklendt is from New Berlin, WI and is a junior Construction Engineering and Management major at Marquette University. Amber is a second term co-op student with Riley Construction working primarily on construction management. Amber hopes to work in construction management, in particular she would like to build schools to create opportunities for children. Amber is sponsored by Clark Wantoch, Executive Director for the Wisconsin Concrete Pipe Association.

Thank you to the scholarship winners and sponsors for supporting the next generation of Public Works leaders.

The 2017 scholarship program is open to junior and senior students in a bachelor’s degree program and second year associate’s degree students with a 3.0 minimum GPA in the Public Works profession. The application requires one letter of recommendation from an APWA member. Applications are due by August 15, 2017. For additional information contact Holly Powell, Education & Scholarship chair at holly.powell@fitchburgwi.gov or visit http://wisconsin.apwa.net/PageDetails/7478.


You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.